St Wilfrid’s, Duncombe Place, YO1 7EF
Confessions are heard before all Masses
St Wilfrid's Church, York, was originally built in the medieval era and once stood where the Assembly Rooms are now. The church fell into disuse and was demolished in the sixteenth century. From 1760, a priest’s house and chapel operated quietly on Little Blake Street, and a small chapel opened on the present site of St Wilfrid’s in 1802.
In 1864 the new St Wilfrid’s Church opened. Its prominent position was possible because of the clearing of the streets in front of the Minster and the creation of Duncombe Place. For the first thirteen years of its life, St Wilfrid's Church was the cathedral of the Diocese of Beverley, after which the diocese was split in to Leeds and Middlesbrough Dioceses. St Wilfrid’s is still known as the Mother Church of the City of York and is the spiritual heart of the Catholic faith in our city.
In 2013, Bishop Terence Patrick Drainey invited the Congregation of the Oratory to make a foundation at St Wilfrid’s. The first Fathers arrived in October that year. In November 2019, Pope Francis permanently established the Congregation of the Oratory in York at St Wilfrid’s Church.
St Wilfrid’s is a visible sign of the Gospel to all those who visit York. It is open every day from 8am to 6pm as a place of prayer and pilgrimage.
Explore our latest news and events.
Get involved in the life of our community.